Homepage Micro Notes Forum

Monday, October 18, 2004

Classification of Flagella

Flagella are long, whiplike shafts that extend from the cellular body.
There are four basic types: Monotrichous, Lophotrichous, Amphitrichous, and Peritrichous.
Here's a view of what they look like.
The fifth and unusual type is atrichous, meaning without flagella.

Top of Page


Post a Comment

<< Home